Zones on Parade | Clarion Fracture Zone

Clarion Fracture Zone

Downbeat, 1995


Sandy Evans co-leader, composer, soprano and tenor saxophone
Tony Gorman co-leader, composer, alto and tenor saxophone, clarinet
Alister Spence co-leader, composer, piano, keyboards
Steve Elphick bass, tuba
Louis Burdett drums
Tony Buck drums (with Louis on track 1)

Zones on Parade followed an eventful 1990 tour of the former Soviet Union, the Baltic States and  Europe. This was a period of historical upheaval.The music reflects the energy and excitement of the experience ranging from cubist boogie woogies, beautiful ballads, swinging contemporary jazz and exuberant marching band references. Steve Elphick’s tuba solo on the title track is a highlight.

Voted Editor’s Choice 1994 in the Cadence USA Record Poll