The Chennai Sessions | The Australian Art Orchestra

Australian Art Orchestra


Sruthi Laya

Guru Kaaraikkudi Mani mridangam, vocals, percussion 
‘Ghatam’ V. Suresh ghatam
B. V. Balasai Bansuri
U.P. Raju mandolin

Australian musicians

Adrian Sherriff leader, tenor trombone, bass trombone
Sandy Evans tenor and soprano saxophone
Lachlan Davidson alto saxophone, clarinet, piccolo flute
Scott Tinkler trumpet
Alister Spence keyboards, sampler
Philip Rex bass
Niko Schäuble drums

“The Chennai Sessions were recorded at the end of the Australian Art Orchestra/Sruthi Laya Ensemble 2008 tour to Hyderabad, Mysore, Bangalore and Chennai. This tour was a demanding and yet richly rewarding experience. The recording process for this album was equal to the tour, both in demands and rewards. The quality of the final outcome is a credit to the commitment, sincerity and dedication of all involved.

“Over more than a decade of collaboration, we have enjoyed sharing music, food and friendship together. We have found that communicating effectively across cultural difference has required time, effort and cultivated insight. As our mutual understanding has developed over time, we have grown increasingly to savour our differences as deeply as we appreciate that which we share.”

—Adrian Sherriff

Listen  on Bandcamp