Passion | Australian Art Orchestra

Australian Art Orchestra

"This is modern music, brilliantly written and played."


Paul Grabowsky piano, electronics, leader
Lachlan Davidson flute, alto and tenor saxophone
Sandy Evans tenor and soprano saxophone
Paul Cutlan clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone
Elliott Dalgleish flute, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone
Julien Wilson tenor saxophone
Adam Simmons tenor saxophone
Bob Coassin trumpet
Scott Tinkler trumpet
Stephen Grant flugelhorn, cornet
James Greening trombone
Jordan Murray trombone
Simon Myers bass trombone
Adrian Sherriff bass trombone
Alister Spence piano, keyboards
John Rodgers violin
Doug de Vries guitar
Philip Rex tuba, double bass
Gary Costello double bass
Alex Pertout percussion
Daryl Pratt percussion
Peter Neville percussion
Niko Schäuble drums

Passion comprises five major works by Paul Grabowsky, Doug de Vries, Alister Spence, Niko Schäuble and John Rodgers each inspired by the St Matthew Passion of J.S. Bach.

The pieces are linked by five chorales sung by Christine Sullivan with lyrics by Paul Grabowsky.