Blue Shift | Clarion Fracture Zone

Clarion Fracture Zone

'signalled the beginning of another wave of creativity...The wonderful dreaming tracks - Blue Shift, Feather Star and Spice Island - still beguile, but take note also of the more rugged textures of The Wild Uproar and La Mar Esta Enferma'


Sandy Evans co-leader, composer, soprano and tenor saxophone
Tony Gorman co-leader, composer, alto and tenor saxophone, clarinet
Alister Spence co-leader, composer, piano, keyboards
Lloyd Swanton bass
Andrew Dickeson drums

In 1990 Blue Shift shared the ARIA Award for the best jazz recording of the year. 

The album was released in 1990 by ABC Records and subsequently re-released by Rufus records. 

Clarion Fracture Zone has been described as the band that helped launch a new wave of fine Australian contemporary jazz in the 1990s.

Blue Shift was voted Editor’s Choice 1990 in the CODA Canada Record Poll CODA Canada

"Strong, slightly moody contemporary sounds"

Listen  on Spotify