Clarion Fracture Zone : Less Stable Elements

Clarion Fracture Zone

Final six nominee ARIA Award – best jazz album 1996-97

Sandy Evans – soprano, tenor saxes
Tony Gorman – alto, tenor saxes, clarinets
Alister Spence – piano, keyboards
Lloyd Swanton – bass
Toby Hall – drums
Daryl Pratt – percussion


1. Jupiter’s Pearls Spence 10.02
2. Serpentine Spence 11.07
3. Less Stable Elements Gorman 4.10
4. Jacaranda Evans 8.00
5. They May Be Giants Spence 8.22
6. The Water Bearer Spence 9.58
7. Nomads Gorman 13.04

All compositions Copyright Control

64.43 mins

Buy this CD from Ark Music>

‘their fourth and best CD to date’ Clare SMH 5 star rating

‘Unreservedly recommended’ Peter Jordan ROLLING STONE

‘CFZ have been well received in these pages and this release continues their streak …These musicians care more about substance than style’ Michael Rosenstein CADENCE

‘The playing gets better every time’ PENGUIN JAZZ GUIDE


Tenor and soprano saxophone, composer